Reluctant (Semi-) Vegetarian

A variety of foods made from wheat.

A variety of foods made from wheat. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Do we eat to survive or do we eat to live?

Recently I have embarked on an adventure in changing how I eat in order to improve my digestive health.  Following the Blood type diet and a diet for IBS sufferers called FODMAP  which involves a mostly vegetarian, wheat free life.  I have always loved veggies but they were side liners and now they must take center stage.  Many of the veggies I love are on my no list.  My favorite stuffed peppers are reduced to rice and turkey sausage without tomato sauce.  Creamed peas and potatoes becomes just peas.  How do I make a filling meal out of peas?  Could somebody peas help me?

Gluten free alternatives are tasty but I’m finding out they are not necessarily healthy.  The gluten free flour combinations usually have a high glycemic amount which means they clog the pipes baby!  Dr. William Davis has written a book called Wheat Belly:  Lose the Wheat, Lose the Weight and Find your Path Back to Health.  He discovered something that completely shocked me–99% of all wheat in the world since 1985 is a hybrid form of wheat with a lower protein count and a higher starch that converts to blood sugar and causes all kinds of problems.The wheat I had as a young child is not the wheat I’ve been giving my kids!  I feel like I’ve been poisoning them following the whole grains band wagon which only leads to overweight, obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, high cholesterol.  Whole grains have been touted as the saviors of these conditions and now we find out they are a contributing factor–especially in their processed form of cereals and breads.  Now before you get your dander up let me refer you to the site  www.WheatBellyBlog.com for more info.  The dude looked in unlikely places–the Department of Agriculture for his info.  Most docs wouldn’t think to research the science that created the food.

Besides this revelation that has me rethinking every morsel that goes into my mouth I have been looking for flour blends that are not high in starch and wheat free.  My sis hooked me up with several Paleo sites.  The paleo life is about good proteins, veggies, limited fruits, essential fats, and no grains.  I just want a sandwhich bread recipe with almond flour so I can make my kids a simple sandwhich for lunch instead of spending time trying to contruct some kind of salad or turkey roll up with a bunch of sides to fill them up.  They still want two bowls of cereal when they get home.  We are all addicted to the whole grains.  We can’t even follow scripture because the grain they had back then was far superior to what we have today.

Feeling endangered . . . must breath.

I wonder what kind of food will be eaten 2,000 years from now.

I believe humans are here that we might have joy.  Somehow I have to find joy in this experience.  I think this week I might try dinner foods for breakfast like fish and breakfast foods for dinner like eggs or waffles.  Wish me luck!

May you thrive in your daily doings.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in My Life as an Endangered Species, Nurturing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reluctant (Semi-) Vegetarian

  1. Pingback: Sweet Tooth Tease | abundantnurturing

  2. Hi,
    Thanks so much for posting a link to my blog “Food Diary of a Dietitian”! I wanted to clarify that a low “FODMAP” diet is not considered vegetarian; meat, fish, poultry, and eggs are actually completely free of the poorly absorbed carbohydrates that can be responsible for malabsorption and symptoms of IBS. Patsy Catsos, RD has a wealth of information about a low FODMAPS diet on her website http://www.ibsfree.net.
    I also wanted to point out that the majority of IBS sufferers have food sensitivities. Instead of following a general blood type diet, I recommend determining what your individual food triggers are. Specializing in food sensitivities and food allergies, I see great improvements in my IBS patients (among others) by identifying their personalized anti-inflammatory diet. Please read more here:

    http://kcbundy.wordpress.com/2012/05/30/treating-chronic-symptoms-by-idenitfying-food-sensitivities-how-you-can-get-the-best-evaluation-and-treatment/

Leave a Reply

