Multitasking madness

I could be cooking dinner right now, taking something out of the washer, assisting one offspring with a homework dilemma, checking their school progress, calling my husband about something, and running an errand.  Instead of all these tasks I am writing.  Several years ago I began to learn that I was hurting myself by trying to be wonder woman/supermom.  I’ve adopted the philosophy “Just because you can doesn’t mean you should” and I no longer attempt to multitask.  Well on occasion (at least once a day) I do two things at once.  Right now I am writing and chewing gum.

I prefer the tortoise approach.  You know from the story the tortoise and the hare?  Well the tortoise wins the race and when asked how he answers, “slow and steady wins the race.”  So I always tell myself “slow and steady wins the race.”  I am very slow and frequently my progress is steady.  I get frustrated with myself and feel I will never accomplish anything.  Focusing on the large tasks and projects I have accomplished I see that slow and steady really does win in the survival, or better yet thrival, of this life’s journey.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in My Life as an Endangered Species, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

