With all my Heart

I haven’t written in over a week due to a death in the family.  My second mom, my mother-in-law passed away peacefully.  Her pain is over, her new journey begun. 

I did not realize all that family needs to do to prepare for a funeral.  It is also a time of reflection on the life of the loved one and our own.  Silly things pop into my mind as I shivered in the air conditioning, like how do I fit all this food into the refrigerator (Hint: plastic bags for salads, lunchmeats, etc). 

I could write all the wonderful things I learned from this great nurturer who truly loved life to the very end despite her pain.  I could write how many people are better nurturers and human beings because of her.  I could write how the universe has gained so much love and delight from her existence.  I could write how she overcame great hardships, loss of a child, or how she cared for her aging mother.  I could write about how sweet and gracious she was even in the most undignified situations.  I could write about how my father-in-law took great care of her, how my sister-in-law was always helping, or other family members caring. 

Instead I want to be a better mom and caregiver, I want to find the joy in everyday, I want to be gracious in undignified situations, I want to laugh and love.  I want to teach my offspring to be loving nurturers just like their grandma. 

To all the caregivers and nurturers I say thank you for your patience, love, and tears.  Your work is greatly appreciated.  May you thrive throughout your life of caregiving and have peace along the way.  You can google caregiving and find many resources to help you like www.caregiver.org, or www.thefamilycaregiver.org.

Good night Sugar Beet,  I’ll see you on the other side.  Maybe you could distract the Big Guy for me when I’m weak.  Love Ya Always and Forever.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Caregiving, Nurturing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

