“I don’t wanna… (cook, clean house)”

The toddler screams, “I do wanna.” He stamps his foot or fist refusing to do whatever you’ve asked.

The school-age child refuses to eat her broccoli or pick up her toys, “Do I hafta?”

“Why do I hafta do that? Nobody else has to do that.  I do more than anybody else,” declares the adolescent when asked to do the dishes.

When confronted with the news he has to pay for gas the young adult exclaims, “Do I have to? ”

I wonder what would happen if I threw a fit about doing laundry, cooking, or housekeeping.  Frankly I don’t feel like it.  It’s summer and I want to enjoy my kids.  I feel like one of the rare parents that doesn’t look forward to school starting, giving my kids over to the world. Ways to thrive in the quest for savoring the last remnants of summer include:

1.  Sandwich Nights- sandwiches, salads, quesadillas, etc can be made by family members.  Add carrot sticks or other fruit and vegetables to make a nutritious meal.  Cooking less will save money in cooling bills.

2.  Cut housekeeping down to the bare minimum–bathrooms, sweeping.  Use paper products cutting down on dishes; dust and smudges can wait until September.

3.  Making connections with each child and spouse at least weekly.  Connecting with other family and friends is an important part of nurturer thrival.

Instead of biting back a fit and “I don’t wanna…” focus on your  “wanna’s”–time with your family.  May you thrive as you savor the final days of summer with those you nurture.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in My Life as an Endangered Species and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

