Small and Simple Things

 

 

Kwiaty

Image via Wikipedia

In my busy life I often wonder if I have done enough.  Have I loved enough, taught my children enough, served others enough, developed my talents enough . . .  I forget the small things I do become great and they are enough.

 

“By small and simple things are great things brought to pass; and small means in many instances doth confound the wise.  And the Lord God doth work by means to bring about his great and eternal purposes; and by very small means the Lord doth confound the wise and bringeth about the salvation of many souls.”     Alma 37:6-7, The Book of Mormon, 1981

“But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty”  1Corinthians 1:27, King James Version Holy Bible,1979

“Thousands of candles can be lighted by a single candle, and the life of the candle will not be shortened.  Happiness never decreases by being shared.”  Buddha

“Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.”  Confucius

“A mountain is composed of tiny grains of earth.  The ocean is made up of tiny drops of water.  Even so life is but an endless series of little details, actions . . .whether good or bad of even the least of them are far reaching.”  Sri Swami Sivananda

“Be kind whenever possible.  It is always possible.”  Dalai Lama

Wisdom begins in wonder.”  Socrates

“A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history.”  Mahatma Gandhi

Nurturers have great power to change our world by doing small things.

5  Small and Simple Ways to Change the World

English: Smile

Image via Wikipedia

1.  Smile

2.  Pray for others who are dealing with the same aches, pains, and challenges that you are

3.  Express gratitude to at least one person every day

4.  Be cheerful and affectionate with your family

5.  Listen!  Listen to people, things, your own body and thoughts.  No judgement.  No advice.  Just listen!

May your thrival be increased by small and simple things.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in My Life as an Endangered Species, Nurturing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Small and Simple Things

  1. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was entirely right. This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  2. Betty Paulson says:

    Yes, if we are doing the best we can it is good enough. If we are living up to our committments and values the best that we can then that is good enough. If we are loving others to the best of our abilities, then that is good enough also, It is good enough for us or even for God who makes up the difference. But what makes each person feel loved varies greatly from person to person however. You may be loving them in ways that make you feel loved and it may not be working for them at all. Many books have been written on this subject such as “The Five Love Languages”. The simplest way to find out what makes your loved ones feel loved is to watch them and more importantly, just ask them “What makes you feel loved?”

    For me personally, it is definitely not flowers. I don’t even care for words of love or cards though I do appreciate a poem that rhymes. Flowers do not commuicate love to me, but chocolate with nuts do. My husband knows not to buy me a personal gift or clothing. I want something practical, something to make my life run smoother. Mostly, it is gifts of service that communicate love to me. Just fix something, build something, plant something, or pick something off the “to do” list. Since I love reading as much as I do breathing, buy a good non-fiction or historical book for me.

    One daughter must have little gifts though they need not be expensive. She must also have sweet words. Now that she has children, pitching in and helping out are important to make her feel loved.

    Another daughter must have your time or she will never feel loved.

    Our youngest son must sit with us several times a week and chat about everything and nothing. He does not want to feel we are in a rush to be off to something else. My husband and I are now taking turns having this important time with our son. We are able to tell him how much we love and appreciate the young man that he is and how very important he is to us. We are also able to communicate with him by appropriate touching. If a child will let you touch him, his heart will not be far from you. As Jade mentioned in her fifth point above, listening is the best gift you can give another person and I think that is true in all “love languages”.

Leave a Reply

