Dirt Road Daily #2 Fences

Keeping in or keeping out, fences serve both sides.  Where I grew

Barbed Wire

Barbed Wire (Photo credit: Danilo.)

up in rural america we had a variety of fences– barbed wire the most common.  The fence kept livestock in and coyotes out.  In our yards the dogs and children were fenced in (until we climbed over, under or through) and livestock and wildlife out.  I have a scar on my hand from when I was about seven or eight.  I had just got a new bike and my afterschool birthday party with friends had ended.  One of my friends was waiting for her parents to pick her up so we were playing around the yard.  Our property was bordered by a barbed wire fence and I feel on the fence catching my hand on a barb.  I’m lucky it wasn’t my face or more parts of my body.  That scar has been a reminder of caution towards fences.

Although we have fencing in the city most of the barbed kind are invisible.  The neighbor who doesn’t like your kids soccer balls on her lawn so she keeps them for a week and then places them on the front porch–barbed wire.  The neighbor who complains about your new fence being too high and lowering their property values–barbed wire.  The parents at school or on the sports teams who want you to conform to their beliefs or standards (ie-Sunday events when your religious  beliefs are for Sunday worship) so they give dirty looks or comment, “One time won’t hurt.”–barbed wire indeed.

 I’m sure I’ve put up my fair share of barbed wire to others especially when they give me dirty looks over my status as a home based parent.  I don’t like barbed wire; it hurts.  Just like my parents replaced their fencing with something less prickly and more private I would like to tear down my barbed wire fences as well.  I want to respect others regardless of how they treat me.  Do unto others. . . Deep breaths are my way of dissolving the pain, offence, prejudice, or lack of understanding.  I remind myself that the other person is my spirit sibling which makes it easier for me to respect them and leave them to their own fences–preferably without barbs.

 May you be able to overcome your barbed wire fences and thrive.

If you enjoy this blog please pass it on.  Click on follow located to the right.  Tell your friends and family. Please feel free to comment.  Also follow me on Twitter @jjbaileywrite.  Thank you for your support and forgiving my tech  challenged abilities.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Nurturing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dirt Road Daily #2 Fences

  1. Pingback: … Then there are bad neighbors … | A View From The Middle (Class)

  2. Kristin says:

    You left me hanging on this one!!! Hurry write write write !!!

  3. Kristin says:

    Oh… How I needed that today!!!! Moving forward with a positive purpose keeps life happy & worthwhile…. Smooth sailing !! I like to say… No pricklies is a great thing!! Love ya sis

Leave a Reply

