Memorial Waves

Memorial Day Flags

Memorial Day Flags (Photo credit: eddiecoyote)

For the first time I felt a true observance of memorial day.  As a young child we would go to the cemetery and put flowers on my brothers grave if we were in town and I was introduced to other relatives via their headstone.  I recall the abundant flags to honor the fallen service persons of our military.  It didn’t sink in that those were brothers, sisters, fathers, mothers,sons, and daughters.

It sinks in now–now that I have lost loved ones, now that I’m a parent with offspring old enough to go off to war, now that I see a more universal picture.

So here’s a tribute to the men and women who have fallen to secure our freedom so I could write this blog and you can read it.  Here’s to the men and women who came home and for all they had to endure.  Here’s to the families who have lost their loved ones for our sake.  Here’s to the spouses who must go on without and the ones who back up their other.  Here’s to the children who are nurtured via Skype or by the remaining images of their fallen parent.  Here’s to the service men and women who continue despite pain and tragedy.

Here’s to all the loved ones we have lost.  I am grateful for my memories of loved ones.  I am grateful for my freedom.  I am grateful for brothers and sisters who nurture our way of life whether they serve in the military or teach school or give comfort.  Thank you.

May you thrive in your freedom,  may you thrive in expressions of gratitude.  God bless all!

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Memorial Waves

  1. Homepage says:

    It’s hard to find knowledgeable people on this topic however you sound like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks 485789

  2. Kristin says:

    Yes yes & yes!! To all that you wrote!!! Thank you for helping me express gratitude as well!!! Love your post .. Well done!!!!

    • mom says:

      I appreciate our service persons everyday. What a blessing to take time out to show our gratitude for all those real “heros” in our lives as well as the loved ones who have passed on. Thank you for your post Love, mom

Leave a Reply

