Cutting the Apron Strings– Again

apron garden

apron garden (Photo credit: klynslis)

When did my baby boy become a man?  When did the curly-haired running toddler become a cross country champion?  When did the curious pre-schooler who collected rocks and built towers grow into a pre-med student ready for his first semester at college?  I remember the day the voice deepened.  I remember when he towered above me.  Now this man is ready to go out in the world far away from me.  I thought I cut the apron strings many times before like his first day of school, his first week away at boy scout camp, starting middle school, starting high school, and now I must cut again.

The heartstrings are never cut.  We will always be connected.  I find myself asking Did I prepare him enough?

Cooking pot kockum
Cooking pot kockum (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

 

 

How do you thrive during apron string cutting?  (Humor me please.)

 

For a peek into a new book about the ups and downs of parenting check out www.sweetchildofminebook.wordpress.com.   DeAnna Adler’s site is inspirational.  She’s been on quite a journey as parent to famed drummer Steven Adler.

May you each thrive as you cut apron strings.  (I wonder how many of these strings this apron of mine has?)

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in My Life as an Endangered Species, Nurturing, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cutting the Apron Strings– Again

  1. Superb blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get responses from other experienced people that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Thanks a lot!

    • jjbailey says:

      I don’t know of any groups or forums specifically for letting go. Check other parent bloggers or LinkedIn groups. I’m sorry that my social media savvy is very limited. Good luck!

  2. I enjoy your writing style truly enjoying this site. “Great services are not canceled by one act or by one single error.” by Benjamin Disraeli.

  3. Kristin says:

    Can’t wait to take the time to read the book I will be of great help to me

    • Mom says:

      You have only just begun, enjoy being in the moment of every day life marches on fast! I know from personal experience.

Leave a Reply

