Toltec Tools

The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz is a great book to help nurturers move forward beyond survival towards thrival.

Cover of "The Four Agreements: A Practica...

Cover via Amazon

The four agreements are:

1.  Be impeccable with your word.  We all know the power of words.  I learned as a teenager the importance of thinking before speaking.

2.  Don’t take anything personally.  You may be thinking, “Wait a minute.  How can I nurture myself and others if I don’t take personally my commitments and responsibilities?”  Sometimes we are much more nurturing if we can get our brain to think beyond personally:  if we can remove those emotions that serve as a hinderance to moving forward and beyond survival.  To not take anything personally is to go to a place where we are a part of a greater whole, where we are free to enjoy and love in our experiences.

3.  Make no assumptions.  I find myself assuming all day long; guessing what will produce positive results, hoping my choices on others behalf will lead to their happiness and joy.  In reality I clog myself with stress.  When I don’t assume and just let a situation play out I usually am blessed with greater clarity.

4. Do Your Best!  I have scouts so this motto is easy to remember, but to allow it to be without defensive assumptions is another story.

For such a small book this one packs a wallop of inspiration.

Great gift book. What books have you read lately that inspire you to thrive?

May you each thrive in your reading inspirations.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, My Life as an Endangered Species, Nurturing, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Toltec Tools

  1. Pingback: Glorious | abundantnurturing

  2. google.com says:

    Good info. Lucky me I found your site by accident (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

  3. Hi there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and
    look forward to new posts.

  4. Pingback: Semi-Hibernation Awesomeness #3 Keeping in Contact | abundantnurturing

  5. site link says:

    Hello! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the great info you might have correct here on this post. I can be coming once more to your blog for much more soon.

  6. Normally I don�t learn post on blogs, even so I wish to say that this write-up quite pressured me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite wonderful post.

  7. Thornton IL says:

    numerous thanks for telling!. Truth is usually the very best vindication against slander. by Abraham Lincoln.. 847020

  8. my link says:

    I consider something truly fascinating about your web site so I saved to fav.

  9. I don�t typically comment but I gotta state thanks for the post on this excellent 1 : D.

  10. locksmith says:

    Thank you for any other great article.

  11. My Homepage says:

    I as well conceive so, perfectly indited post!

  12. Mom says:

    I really did enjoy this book and appreiciate the wonderful reminders of these 4 essential charactor building qualities.
    The book that has inspired me personally most recently is: Feelings Buried Alive Never Die… by Karol K. Truman. I recommend it for the value of nurturing of ourselves to become the our best to nurture others.

  13. Kristin says:

    Oops I left a comment for this one on the skunk one … But wow this is amazing can’t wait to get that book!!!!!

Leave a Reply

