Blood Type Foodie?

Blackberries are a source of polyphenol antiox...

Blackberries are a source of polyphenol antioxidants (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Nutrition and how and when we enjoy our food are a part of nurturer thrival.  One book to investigate is Dr. Peter D’Adamo‘s Eat Right for Your Type.  His research behind blood types affecting which foods nourish us and which foods . . . well poison us.  I was shocked to see tomatoes and potatoes on my don’t eat list.  Some of the foods I love are on the don’t eat list so I figure they will be rare treats. Isn’t that what a treat is?

After years of digestive issues this book came to my attention and I found it very interesting.  I am experimenting on the workings of this plan to see if it adds to my thrival.  Sometimes elimination diets or specific diets for health conditions including allergies often leave me feeling deprived.  Perceptions are hard to change sometimes but I am trying to focus on the benefits and all the wonderful foods I can have and do enjoy.

My gastrointerologist suggested I look into the FODMAP diet developed by researchers in Australia for those with IBS.  The theory is sound by not a lot of lab research to back up the usefulness of this program for my specific condition and it seems a bit complicated.  FODMAP is designed to work like an allergy elimination diet where you eliminate specific foods from six categories of short chain sugars like glucose and then add them back in one at a time.  Then you have to figure out how much is too much of certain categories of foods and what combination of these foods causes you the most trouble.

I came up with my own plan. Taking my time to implement this plan–3 to 6 months– is part of how I stay sane.  I also treat it like a science experiment where I am the test subject. (Don’t take anything personally.)

Whatever your health needs are nourish yourself so you can nourish others–body, mind, and spirit.

May you thrive in all your nourishment.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Caregiving, Nurturing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Blood Type Foodie?

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pinto Stew | abundantnurturing

  2. jjbailey says:

    I appreciate your input. I also tweet at @jjbaileywrite.

  3. Whoah this weblog is wonderful i like studying your posts. Stay up the good paintings! You know, lots of people are looking around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  4. solarpower says:

    Hello there!I am at the office checking your current website from my own new apple iphone! Simply need to write I like reading your own website and look in front to all of your blogposts! Carry on the fantastic job

  5. Mom says:

    I am excited to see if the changes mentioned in the information about my blood type do make a significant difference. I am pretty much in line with most of the prefered diet just need to eliminate a few foods I thought were ok for me. I do know from personal experience that some foods do cause low energy, foggy brain activity, poor judgement, and unpleasant interaction with those I love and care about, not productive for thriving. Thank you for bringing this to my attention I had seen it before and neglected to pursue it.
    Keep up the great work.
    Love, Mom

  6. Thanks for including my Rx Food post as part of your related articles.
    Very nice to meet you and I look forward to reading more from your site.
    By the way, I really like how you described yourself in your about, above…’endangered species’…sad but true, also very funny to read out of the blue like that.

    Look forward to catching up on how your experiment works out for you. I believe we are all an experiment of ONE.

    take care.

Leave a Reply

