Veggies for Breakfast?

Squashes and pumpkins

Squashes and pumpkins (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I never imagined eating vegetables for breakfast.  Breakfast was for grains and fruits mostly with a rare meat–who doesn’t love bacon.  In dealing with digestive issues I have been busily studying and experimenting trying to find solutions and enjoyment in nurturing my self and those I love.  The amount of sugars our foods break down into can cause gas, high blood sugar or drastic blood sugar swings, and excess sugar is converted into fat for emergencies.  If you experience stress  your body registers an emergency 24/7 and likes to store whatever you don’t burn into fat.

So  squash has become my new best friend.  I can eat it for any meal and it fills me up better than bread, potatoes, or other grains.  Making it taste good so I don’t have to plug my nose and force it down my gullet is another issue.

zucchini and summer squash: can be peeled, sliced, diced, put in soup, stew, sauted, and steamed.

Yellow crookneck squash, a variety of summer s...

Yellow crookneck squash, a variety of summer squash (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Butternut and pumpkin: can be cooked in oven or microwave and then puree’d or not.  Can be added to salad or soups, replace potato or tomatoes in recipes, as a puree’ can be eaten as soup or added as a sauce to replace a cream sauce or tomato sauce.

Adding spices really helps.  Ginger, cinnamon, clove, and cardamom are among spices and herbs that add to squash flavor and make it delightful for even breakfast.  Cinnamon and ginger are my favorite go tos.

I also enjoy eating cucumbers, kale, spinach, or other raw greens with some eggs for a filling breakfast.

I never dreamed I would be eating squash, cucumbers, and eggs for breakfast!

May you thrive as you add veggies to your breakfast plate.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nurturing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Veggies for Breakfast?

  1. Sugel says:

    Thanks for a prompt to do something summery and light with summer squashes (of both colors).

  2. You have made some good points there. I checked on the web for additional information about the issue and found most
    individuals will go along with your views on this
    web site.

  3. Mom says:

    Good Job!

Leave a Reply

