Dirt Road Daily #6 Over the River

Woods

Woods (Photo credit: Keith1999)

Over the River and through the woods. . .so many memories of visiting grandmas and grandpas.  I usually got carsick so I learned to sleep during the journey.  I don’t want to sleep during the journey of life so I have to find a way to enjoy the journey in spite of the motion sickness.  November numbness is moving into December chaos.  Moving forward in our lives brings opportunities; living with challenges, illnesses, and other seemingly unpleasant experiences brings us abundant opportunities.

When I was a little girl I loved to celebrate every holiday.  For thanksgiving I would make paper pilgrim hats for some of my siblings and we would play pilgrim.  Couches or chairs for the Mayflower, sometimes just a plain blanket, and shelters made from blankets over chairs were some of our props.  We looked forward to dinner while our father slept in his recliner with football on and mom was in the kitchen moving mountains and creating miracles.  I think she liked the years we went to family and she only had to make one or two things instead of the whole shebang.  I can now relate.  I’ve simplified over the years and include the whole family in the preparations so I can be grateful instead of grumpy.

“Photograph of a painting by Edward Percy Mora...

“Photograph of a painting by Edward Percy Moran (1862-1935), showing Myles Standish, William Bradford, William Brewster and John Carver signing the Mayflower Compact in a cabin aboard the Mayflower while other Pilgrims look on.” ca.1900. The original hangs at the Pilgrim Hall Museum in Plymouth, MA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

One Thanksgiving I brought my boyfriend (now husband) home from college.  One of my brothers offered to take him out rabbit hunting and they asked if I wanted to go.  I usually didn’t get asked to go hunting.  I said sure.  I wore a dress with long johns and boots.  Truly enjoying the shock of the males who protested, “You can’t go hunting in a dress!” (I think my mother mumbled something, too), I went hunting in a dress and no gun.  You see I love winter and trekking around in the snow and sun was pleasant and invigorating.  Yes the wind bites but I was warm and cheerful.

I am grateful for memories that remind me to enjoy the opportunities that come my way and do so with child-like joy.  Sometimes my husband will ask me where I’m going because I’m in a dress.  “No where.  Just here.”

May you dress for your journeys with joy and be blessed with opportunities all along the way.  Now if you will excuse me I need to shower and put on a dress–I have had lot of opportunities today.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nurturing, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dirt Road Daily #6 Over the River

  1. Mom says:

    Thank you again for the walk down memory lane. I love Thanksgiving because it gives us all an opportunity to be thankful and grateful as we reflect on ALL of our blessings mostly our family and friends,even those things that may not seem to be a blessing.

Leave a Reply

