Skippin’ and Cartwheelin’ Young

Have you ever had a birthday, or a child–usually a teenager–who said you were old, and you went to the mirror, looked at your reflection and thought, “But I feel young.”  Maybe you still feel 18 or 25, except you’ve gained wisdom with your experience.  I know I feel like skipping, and I do when appropriate circumstances arise.  I can still do cartwheels across my lawn.

Seeing ourselves as young is part of how we stay young regardless of our chronological age.  The power of visualization can inspire us to put the efforts into nurturing our mind, body, and spirit.

Feeling young in mind takes wisdom and faith.  I have learned that just because I don’t remember where I put something or why I went downstairs to the laundry room doesn’t mean I’m old.  Wisdom tells me that I have too much on my mind and not enough healthy sleep.  I had memory problems as a child and teen and I didn’t think, “Hey I’m going senile.”  I just thought I was tired–Insomnia can do that.

Feeling young in body takes more work and time than it did 20 yrs ago.  It seemed life was a workout with plenty of opportunities for cardio and stretching.  Now I must schedule it in 15 minutes at a time.

Feeling young in spirit is achieved by animating visuals of your young self in meditation.  I also enjoy children’s laughter, spending time with people, and serving in the community as well as being passionate about nurturing and storytelling.  I thank God for words; for words that organize in my mind and force themselves out into the world.  I thank God if His words through me do good.

Now I must skip upstairs to fold laundry while watching Dr. Who on Netflix.  After which I’ll cart-wheel out the door and ride my bike up to Parent/Teacher conference.

May you thrive in your own skippin’ and cartwheeling–be young in heart, mind, and spirit.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in My Life as an Endangered Species, Nurturing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

