Quiet Kindness Reaching Around the World

It is the quiet acts of kindness we perform daily that empower ourselves and others to make significant change in the world.

For the past few months I have been participating in the #HappinessOCourse by Shawn Achor called 21 Days to A Happier Life and 21 Days to Inspire Happiness Around You. What I’ve learned is this:

  1. Happiness is expressed through practice of seeing and focusing our brains on the positive in our daily lives.
  2. I can practice happiness by recording three positive specific and different events/blessings/gratitudes each day, by remembering and recording one specific positive event from recent experience daily/bi-weekly/weekly and writing down the details and feeling surrounding the event (this is called Doubler), and Noise Cancelling which involves two minutes of focus on breathing in and out (meditation).
  3. I can share happiness by sending one positive email, text, or letter to someone each day letting them know something I admire about them; also by looking people in the eye and smiling at them and waving; and, we share happiness by personally telling someone a form of praise.

It’s not always easy for me to look people in the eye and I had some anxiety about who to send an email to each day. Most days I see very few people to smile, wave, or praise so I decided I would practice on myself when I saw myself in the mirror. It’s hard to look myself in the eye but I figure if I practice looking myself in the eye and smiling long enough It will get easier and then I’ll be able to do this for others.

March is the perfect month for random acts of kindness as we lead up to Spring, Easter, and International Day of Happiness. Happy Acts can be as simple as two minutes of focused breathing or sharing a smile or as complex as organizing an event to do something for others. What is your happiness today?

I’m grateful for the doors this course opened up for me and I hope this information will inspire you towards happiness. I highly recommend this course it is well worth the money.

May you thrive as you seek, practice, and share happiness.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nurturing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

