Dirt Road Daily #13: Smell the Roses

I have a strong memory of riding with my Grandma and Grandpa in the front seat of their pickup truck that had a camper and was pulling a trailer behind as we eased down a dirt road on our way to our campsite. My grandmother pulled out a pink bottle of lotion and put some on her hands and then offered me some. As I rubbed the soothing pink creaminess into my sensitive skin, the essence of roses filled my sense of smell with memories deep, soft, and cool. Emotions of love, peace, and comfort are so strong that any time I find fragrant roses I’m carried back to the moment in the pick up truck with my grandparents as we drove through the woods. For a long time I didn’t find any lotion or other products that were as fragrant as real roses and my grandmother’s lotion.

In recent years I have found several products I love with true rose essence. These are great for combatting winter blues, spring refreshment, summer savoring, or autumn adventures.

Andalou Naturals 1000 Roses skin care line: the night cream is divinely creamy.

Heritage Store Rose Petals Rosewater: refreshing to spritz for dry winters or hot summers.

Pacifica Persian Rose Perfume: smells of exotic summer evenings complete with stars and fireflies.

May you thrive in your rosy ramblings no matter what the season.

About jjbailey

Professional Parent, Author, creative homemaker, and endangered species.
This entry was posted in Nurturing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

